Skip to main content

2019/2020 Scholarship Awards

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

In May, the Western Kansas Community Foundation awarded scholarships to students from southwest Kansas. In total, the Foundation awarded 18 students with scholarships from 11 different scholarship funds. In addition, the Foundation makes distributions to Garden City Community College Endowment Association from four other funds for the purpose of providing scholarships. In total, scholarship awards and distributions to provide scholarships for the 2019/2020 school year amount to over $43,000. WKCF scholarships are awarded once per year, with most applications coming due May 1st. Application forms and guidelines for each scholarship can be found on the Foundation’s website at To learn more about the process, or setting up your own scholarship fund, visit the WKCF website, call 620-271-9484, or stop by the office at 402 N. Main in downtown Garden City.  

Below are the WKCF Scholarships for 2019 that have been awarded thus far:

  1. Bernadine Sitts Intermediate Center Scholarship, for senior graduates who were students of Bernadine Sitts Intermediate Center, Garden City ($1,000/per): Emmeline Gomez, Taylor Sullivan.
  2. Chase Mitchel Webber Memorial Scholarship, for seniors graduating from Sublette High School ($1,000): Brekken Hoffman.
  3. D & L Hewes Scholarship, for seniors graduating from a High School in Gray County, KS ($1,000/per): Cameren Bartlett, Grace Greene, Odalys Escobedo.
  4. Duane Nichols Memorial Scholarship, for seniors graduating from Holcomb High School and Norwayne High school in Creston, OH ($400/per): Colby Reinhart (OH), Maccoy Stika (OH), Bailey Pauley.
  5. Horace Good Middle School Alumni Scholarship, for senior graduates who were students of Horace Good Middle School, Garden City ($500/per): Austin Underwood, Zin Phyo.
  6. Jan McLeland Memorial Scholarship, for seniors graduating from Satanta High School ($280): Kristopher Wagner.
  7. Katherine C. Jones Continuing Education Scholarship, for graduates of Holcomb High School who have completed at least one year of school at an accredited college, technical school, or university ($540): Christopher Nemechek.
  8. Katherine C. Jones Scholarship, for seniors graduating from Holcomb High School ($670): Peyton Blackburn.
  9. O'Brate Family Scholarship, for seniors graduating of Ingalls High School ($3,000/per):
    Ashlyn Cure, Alec Bayer, Edwin Flores, Odalys Escobedo.
  10. Ron Peek Memorial Scholarship, for Finney County, KS graduates who are children/stepchildren of employees of Finney County Police Departments, Finney County Sheriff’s Department, Finney County Fire Departments, Finney County EMS, or State Troopers who reside in Finney County ($1,500/per): Bailey Pauley,
    Lincoln Biera.
  11. Tonya Wright Memorial Scholarship, for graduates of Satanta High School in pursuit of an arts degree ($510): Adan Gutierrez.

Giving Options

Learn more about the different options we have available to make it easy for you to contribute.

Give Now

Contact Us

Get in touch with us today to get more information about our Funds, Giving Options, and Grants.

Get in Touch